Northern Nigerian Breaking News

ACReSAL restates commitment to continue sensitization on dangers of sand mining in Kano

The (ACReSAL) has restated its determination to continue sensitizing the people on the dangers associated with sand mining.

SOLACEBASE reports that the Project Coordinator Kano-ACReSAL Dr. Dahir Muhammad Hashim expressed the commitment on Wednesday through the Director of Administration and General Service Shehu Sani Shehu during a follow-up visit to the District Head of Tofa LGA around Yansabo community of Tofa LGA of the state.

Dr. Dahir said the organization was informed about sand mining activities around the Yansabo community where ACReSAL constructed Water Conservation Structures and provisions of minor irrigation facilities.

This was contained in a statement issued by Maryam Abdulquadir, Communication Officer Kano-ACReSAL.

Read Also:Probe failure to upload presidential election results To IReV- Jega tells INEC

elsamad new

‘’Reconnaissance by Environmental Safeguards Experts indicated that the activities of sand miners pose a serious threat to the investment hence the need for the call on the miners to relinquish the right to their activities in the area, the statement said.

‘’On his part, the District Head of Tofa LGA of Kano Alhaji Isyaku Umar Tofa (Makaman Bichi) reassured the Kano-ACReSAL of their support over the effort that would translate into safeguarding the Yansabo Water Conservation Structure.’’

Read Also:Reps reject motion to make WAEC, UTME free

The District Head promised that the situation would be addressed following the guidelines and recommendations made by the Environmentalist for the benefit of the direct communities, State and the country as a whole.

Read Also:Varsity suspends examination as robbers attack, rape students

The follow-up team includes the Director Admin & General Services, Shehu Sani Shehu, Director of Ecology and Forestry from the Ministry of Environment Dr. Abdulhamid Bala, the Project Engr. Buhari Abdullahi, Environmental Safeguards Officer Mukhtar Bello, Climate Change Officer Dr. Muazu Abdullahi, Hydrology Officer Sulaiman Abubakar,  Social Livelihood Officer Zaynab Jaafar Baba, and M&E Aminu Gidado Yusha’u.

Comments are closed.