Northern Nigerian Breaking News

BUK gets 34 Professors, Nasir Fagge, Usman Abubakar, Ahmad Magaji, among others

…As Dr. Nura Ibrahim, Bashir Aliyu Umar, Taiwo G. Amole 53 others now Associate Professors

The 14 Governing Council of Bayero University, Kano (BUK) has ratified the promotion of 35 senior lecturers to the rank of Professors and 56 Associate Professors for the 2020/2021 promotion exercise.

A statement by the Acting Director Establishment, of the university, Binta Yahaya Kofar Na’isa, said the ratification was approved at the council meeting held on Thursday.

SOLACEBASE reports that those promoted to the rank of Professors include the former President of the Academic Staff Union of Universities, Dr Nasir Isa Fagge as Professor of Nuclear Physics, Dr, Usman Ibrahim Abubakar (Professor of Media Studies), Dr. Ahmad Magaji (Professor of Hausa Culture) and Dr. SalihuLawal, Dean School of Continuing Education as Professor of Islamic Studies.

The statement said others promoted for the 2021 session are Dr. Sani Malami (Professor of Pharmacology and Therapeutics); Dr Musa Njidda (Professor of Sports Management); Dr. Bello Ibrahim (Professor of Criminology and Security Studies); Dr Kabir Bello (Professor of Sociology) Dr Ya’u Musa Dantata (Professor of Special Needs Education Visual Impairment) as well as Dr. Aliyu Salisu Barau (Professor of Urban Development and Management) and Dr Ibrahim Tajo Siraj (Professor of Inorganic Chemistry).

elsamad new

Read Also: IGP approves promotion of 21,039 junior officers

According to the statement, those for the 2021 promotion exercise for the rank of Associate Professors include Dr Bashir Aliyu Umar (Islamic Studies); Dr Hafsat Umar Abdullahi (Education); Nura Ibrahim (Information &Media Studies); Hadiza Jummai Ibrahim (Mass Comm); Maryam Umar Moukhtar (Mass Comm); Bala Boyi Bukata (Electrical Engineering); Mohammed Mamodu Maina (Agric and Environmental Engineering) and Abdullahi Yahuza Zainawa (Political Science).

‘’All the appointments are with effect from 1 October, 2021,’’ the statement said.

Read Also: Emefiele’s withdrawal limits, retaliatory against politicians – Fintiri

It said other academics that got promoted to the rank of Associate Professors are, Dr Suwaiba Sa’id Ahmad, Director, Centre for Gender Studies (Science and Tech. Education); Dr. Kabir Bello Dungurawa, Rector, Kano State Polytechnic and Dr. Aliyu Dahiru Mohammed (Economics) among others.

However, the following have their promotion to the rank of Associate Professors with effect from October 2020 and they are; Dr Ali Abdullahi (Agric Econs &Extension); Dr Auwal Sani Salihu (Psychiatry); Dr Zaharaddeen Garba Habib (Psychiatry) and Dr Musa Usman Umar (Psychiatry)

Comments are closed.