Northern Nigerian Breaking News

UPDATED: Elections will not hold in 240 polling units —INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced that voting would not take place in 240 polling units during the general election scheduled to take place from February25th, 2023.

This is coming in less than 12 days to the general elections.

Read Also:IGP orders redeployment of senior police officers

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, stated this at a meeting with party leaders on Monday.

He said with the exclusion of the 240 polling units, elections will take place in about 176,606 polling units across the country.

The Commission also warned it will not accept a situation where two or more party agents report to the polling units, causing confusion, adding that any agent engaged in such acts will be arrested and prosecuted.

The INEC chairman spoke as the National Chairman of the Inter-Party Advisory Council (IPAC) and National Chairman of the Action Democratic Party (ADP), Engr. Yabagi Sani, told the commission to do everything possible to ensure that the election takes place, saying “under no circumstances should this election be postponed”

Subscribe to our newsletter

The units where elections will not hold range from one in Edo, Kwara, Rivers and Zamfara States to 38 in Imo, which has the highest.

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu said the affected polling units have no registered voters.

The number of polling in the various stages are : Abia (12); Adamawa (4); Anambra (6); Bauchi (6); Bayelsa (2); Benue (10); Borno (12); Delta (4); Ebonyi (4); Edo (1); Enugu (4); Imo (38); Jigawa (3); Kaduna (8); Kano (10); Katsina (12); Kebbi (5); Kwara (1); Lagos (3), Nasarawa (11); Niger (10); Ondo (2); Plateau (6); Rivers (1); Sokoto (8); Taraba (34); Yobe (11); Zamfara (1) and the FCT (11).

He said ”There are 240 polling units without registered voters spread across 28 States and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). They range from one polling unit to 12 polling units in each State and the FCT, except Taraba and Imo States with 34 and 38 polling units respectively.

“No new registrants chose the polling units and no voters indicated interest to transfer to them during the last Continuous Voter Registration (CVR), mainly for security reasons. This means that no elections will hold in these polling units.

“In our avowed commitment to transparency, the Commission is making available to Nigerians a comprehensive list of these polling units by name, code number and their locations by State, Local Government and Registration Area.

“With this development, the number of polling units where elections will hold nationwide on 25th February 2023 and 11th March 2023 is now 176,606. Hard copies of the list are included in your folders for this meeting.

“Above all, Nigerians deserve the right to know the locations of these polling units. Accordingly, the soft copy of the list has been uploaded to our website and social media platforms for public information and guidance.”

Comments are closed.