Northern Nigerian Breaking News

Nigerian chief justice sets to swear in 11 justices for supreme court

Olukayode Ariwoola, the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), will on Monday swear in 11 justices for the Supreme Court.

Festus Akande, Supreme Court spokesperson, said the event will be held by 10 am at the main courtroom of the apex court.

In December 2023, President Bola Tinubu asked the Senate to confirm 11 judges of the Court of Appeal as justices of the Supreme Court.

The president’s request came after the National Judicial Council (NJC) recommended the justices for elevation.

READ MORE: JUST IN: Supreme Court affirms Fintiri’s electoral victory as Adamawa Gov

elsamad new

The Supreme Court is currently left with 10 justices after the death of Centus Nweze, and the retirements of Amina Augie and Dattijo Muhammad.

On December 21, 2023, the senate confirmed the judges recommended for elevation.

The confirmed justices are Jummai Hannatu Sankey, Chidiebere Nwaoma Uwa, Chioma Egondu Nwosu-Iheme, Haruna Simon Tsammani, Moore Aseimo A. Adumein, Obande Festus Ogbuinya, and Stephen Jonah Adah.

Others are Habeeb Adewale O. Abiru, Jamilu Yammama Tukur, Abubakar Sadiq Umar, and Mohammed Baba Idris.

The swearing-in of the new apex court justices would translate to the Supreme Court having the full complement of 21 justices as stipulated by the Constitution.


Comments are closed.