Northern Nigerian Breaking News

Osun Election: Aregbesola reacts to Adeleke’s victory

The minister of Interior Rauf Aregbesola has reacted to the electoral victory of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Ademola Adeleke in the just concluded governorship election in Osun State.

It could be recalled that Aregbesola, Oyetola’s predecessor, had publicly moved against the second-term ambition of Governor Adegboyega Oyetola although they are both members of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Instead, Aregbesola endorsed the former Secretary to the State Government, Moshood Adeoti, who later lost to Oyetola in the APC governorship primary election held on February 19.

The minister travelled out of Nigeria on Friday, boycotting Saturday’s governorship election in his state.

Read Also: UPDATED : INEC declares Adeleke of PDP winner of Osun governorship election

Reacting to the development on his  verified Facebook page on Sunday after Adeleke emerged victorious, Aregbesola described Oyetola’s defeat as the work of God.

gandG Header

- Advertisement -

Aregbesola wrote: “Osun Le Tente”. This matter is by the decree of the watchers, and the demand by the word of the holy ones: to the intent that the living may know that the Most High ruleth in the kingdom of men, and giveth it to whomsoever he will, and setteth up over it the basest of men.” – (Daniel 4:17)”

Adeleke, 61, defeated Oyetola, 67, with a total of 403,371 votes against 375,027 scored by Oyetola – a difference of 28,314 votes.

Adeleke won in 17 local government areas comprising Atakumosa West, Boluwaduro, Ede South, Ede North, Egbedore, Ejigbo, Ife North, Ifelodun, Ila, Ilesa West and Irepodun.

Other local government areas won by the PDP candidate are Obokun, Odo-Otin, Olorunda, Oriade, Orolu and Osogbo.

The highest votes for PDP were from Osogbo (30,401), Ede North (23,931) and Olorunda (21,350).

- Advertisement -

Comments are closed.