Northern Nigerian Breaking News

Osun Election: INEC presents certificate of return to Adeleke

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has presented the Certificate of Return to Osun Governor-elect, Senator Ademola Adeleke.

INEC National Commissioner, Supervising Osun, Ogun and Oyo States, Prof. Kunle Ajayi, presented the certificate to Adeleke and Deputy Governor-Elect Prince Kola Adewusi.

The presentation comes barely 72 hours after Adeleke was declared winner of the Saturday, July 16 poll.

Fidelity Bank

It could be recalled that Ademola Adeleke of the PDP defeated Governor Gboyega Oyetola of the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) on Saturday at the governorship poll.

- Advertisement -

Adeleke secured 403,371 votes while Oyetola trailed behind with 375,027 votes.

Read Also: UPDATED: INEC declares Adeleke of PDP winner of Osun governorship election

In his acceptance speech after receiving the certificate at a brief ceremony at Osun INEC head office in Osogbo, Adeleke dedicated his victory at the poll to the memory of his late elder brother, Senator Isiaka Adeleke and the people of Osun state.

The PDP won in Ede North, Ede South, Ifelodun, Boluwaduro, Egbedore, Odo Otin, Osogbo, Ila, Atakumosa West, Olorunda, Ilesa West, Obokun, Oriade, Orolu, Ife North, Irepodun, and Ejigbo LGAs.

While the APC won in Boripe, Ilesa East, Ayedire, Ifedayo, Ife Central, Ayedaade, Iwo, Olaoluwa, Isokan, Atakumosa East, Irewole, Ife South, and Ife East LGAs.

Comments are closed.