Northern Nigerian Breaking News

JUST IN: Senate confirms 45 ministerial nominees as El-Rufai, two others on hold

The Senate confirmed 45 of the 48 screened ministerial nominees of President Bola Tinubu, after a week of intense grilling for some and cursory introductions for others.

Senate President Godswill Akpabio put the nominations to a series of voice votes, of which all but three were approved.

The remaining nominees, including former Governor of Kaduna State Nasir El-Rufai, Stella Okotete (Delta State), and Abubakar Danladi (Taraba State), are said to still be undergoing security clearance.

Read Also: Petroleum ministry cautions against fake appointment letters


The confirmation comes over a week after Tinubu’s transmission of a 28-member list to the red chamber for confirmation on July 27.

Read Also: N3 billion fraud trial of Yahaya Bello’s nephew stalled

Last Monday, the Senate screened former governor of Rivers State Nyesom Wike; Abubakar Kyari of Borno State; Nkiruka Onyejeocha (Abia State); Bello Muhammad (Sokoto State); Sani Abubakar Danladi (Taraba State); and Badaru Abubakar (Jigawa State).

Read Also: Keyamo’s Screening: Akpabio rushes to Aso Villa after senate’s rowdy session

Others are Joseph Utsev (Benue State), Olubunmi Tunji Ojo (Ondo State), Betta Edu (Cross River State), Uju Kennedy Ohaneye (Anambra State), Abubakar Momoh (Edo State), John Enoh (Cross River State), Iman Suleiman Ibrahim (Nasarawa State), and Yusuf Maitama Tuggar (Bauchi State).

Comments are closed.