Northern Nigerian Breaking News

10th Assembly: NASS announces date to induct lawmakers-elect

The management of the National Assembly, in conjunction with the National Institute for Legislative and Democratic Studies, has released dates for the induction of the lawmakers.

This follows the conclusion of the National Assembly elections and the formal release of the authentic list of senators and House of Representatives members-elect by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The management further stated that it was prepared for the induction of the lawmakers of the 10th Assembly ahead of the inauguration in June, 2023.

The National Assembly via a statement on Thursday, signed by the Secretary to the Sub-Committee on Media and Publicity, Dr Ali Umoru, noted that the induction program would be held in two batches.

The statement read, “The induction is scheduled to commence from May 7 to 13, 2023 for Batch A, while Batch B will hold from May 14 to May 20, 2023.

“The objectives of the induction/inauguration exercise is to expose members-elect to the functions of the National Assembly, its practices and procedures as well as the services available to them.”

Read Also:FCSC disowns fake recruitment advert

The National Assembly also noted that as part of the efforts to ensure a very successful induction/inauguration exercise, the management led by the Clerk to the National Assembly, Sani Tambawal, had constituted a Central Planning Committee made up of all the secretaries in the National Assembly Service. Memberships were also drawn from the National Assembly Service Commission and the National Institute for Legislative and Democratic Studies.

The statement added, “The CPC, which is at the helm of the planning and implementation of the induction programme as well as the formal inauguration of the 10th Assembly, has the Deputy Clerk to the National Assembly, Kamoru Ogunlana, as the Chairman. The CPC is divided into 11 specialised sub-committees to enhance effectiveness, efficiency, monitoring and coordination.

“The sub-committees include Programme Planning, Finance, Protocol and Ceremonials, Records and Documentation, Media and Publicity, Transport and Logistics, as well as Venue and Accommodation. Others are Security and Accreditation, Health and Medical Services, Civil Society Organisations/Development Partners and the Rapporteurs Team.”

It added, “The sub-committees, which report at weekly intervals to the CPC, have since swung into action, holding strategy sessions and perfecting plans for a successful induction exercise. In fact, the sub-committees are presently crossing the T’s and dotting the I’s.”

During the inauguration of the CPC, Tambawal who promised to deliver seamless induction and inauguration programmes, charged the members to put in their best and work as a united team towards the achievement of the desired objectives.

Comments are closed.