Northern Nigerian Breaking News

Appeal Court sacks 11 PDP lawmakers in Plateau assembly

The Appeal Court sitting in Abuja has sacked 11 Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lawmakers in the Plateau state assembly.
Dep senate

In a unanimous decision, on Friday, the panel led by Justice Okon Abang held that all the sacked lawmakers scored wasted votes at the time of the March 2023 general election because their party lacked structure.

Read Also: Judges are now threat to democracy-NEF warns

Abang said that the PDP violated section 177 of the 1999 constitution and, hence could not sponsor candidates in an election.

The court however declared all the second runners-up in the March 18 elections as winners.

elsamad new

Those sacked are; Hon Timothy Dantong (Riyom), Hon. Rimyat Nanbol,- (Langtang North Central), Moses Sule (Mikang), Salome Waklek,-Pankshin, Hon. Bala Fwangji (Mangu South), Hon. Maren Ishaku (Bokkos), Hon. Dagogot (Quaanpan North) and Nannim Langyi,-(Langtang North North).

Read Also: Tinubu receives Uzodinma, Ododo over electoral victory

Others are Nimchak Rims (Langtang South) Hon. Danjuma Azi (Jos North West) Gwottson Fom (Jos South) and Hon. Abubakar Sani Idris (Mangu North) respectively.

The All Progressives Congress is now the leading party in the parliament.


Comments are closed.