Northern Nigerian Breaking News

BUA chairman rejects APC finance committee membership

The Chairman of BUA Group, Abdulsamad Rabiu, has turned down his nomination to serve as a member of the finance committee set up by the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

This was disclosed in a statement by the company on Friday.

Rabiu was earlier nominated by the party to serve as a member of the 34-member committee constituted on Thursday.

Other committees were also constituted by the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party after its meeting at the national secretariat in Abuja.

The company disclosed that the APC did not consult its chairman before including his name in the list.

elsamad new

The statement partly read, “It is important to note that our Chairman, Abdul Samad Rabiu and BUA Group have consistently adopted an apolitical stance over the years. This approach is integral to the nature of our business and aligns with Mr. Rabiu’s focus on fostering economic growth through BUA Group’s initiatives and philanthropic efforts through ASR Africa.

Read Also: Investigation: Contractor denies getting N60m contract Refugee Commission purportedly awarded

“With respect to this, we wish to inform the publishers, our partners, stakeholders, and the general public that Mr. Rabiu has decided to graciously decline the nomination/appointment. This decision is made in light of the fact that he was not previously consulted regarding his inclusion in the list and his inability to commit time due to his demanding schedule.”

It could be recalled that the national secretariat of APC had pasted the list of the committee members on one of its WhatsApp platforms on Thursday but deleted the post some hours after.

Read Also: Jigawa establishes hibiscus processing facility to boost export

On Friday, the party posted the same list and included the name of Mr Rabiu despite a statement earlier declining the offer.

According to the list, the finance committee will be chaired by Uguru Ofoke while Bashir Gumel will serve as the secretary.

Read Also: COP28 opens in Dubai with calls for speedy action against climate crisis

Other notable members include the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio; the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Abbas Tajudeen; Minister of Finance, Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Wale Edun and oil magnate, A.A. Rano.

A businessman, Mohammed Indimi; Kunle Soname; Tein Jack Rich are also members.


Comments are closed.