Northern Nigerian Breaking News

Off-Cycle Poll: Meet the 16 aspirants APC cleared for Ondo Governorship primary

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has cleared the 16 aspirants seeking its ticket to contest the Nov. 20 Ondo State Governorship election.

The seven-man screening committee, led by Sen. Joshua Lidani, gave all the aspirants the nod to contest the April 20 primary election.

Among those cleared was Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa. 

READ ALSO: Chibok Girls: U.S. pledges support for Nigeria’s anti-terrorism war, victims’ families

A report submitted to the party’s Directorate of Organisation in Abuja on Saturday, said the committee considered eligibility, suitability, character, support base, among other areas.

elsamad new

Also cleared are Isaac Kekemeke, former APC National Vice-Chairman (South West), Olusoji Ehinlanwo, a former member of the House of Assembly, Olugbenga Edema, and Senator Jimoh Ibrahim.

READ ALSO: Iran launches drone strikes at Israel – Army

Others are Mrs Funmilayo Waheed-Adekojo, Akinfolarin Samuel, former Commissioner for Finance, Adewale Akinterinwa, Chief Olusola Oke, Ohunyeye Felix and Morayo Lebi.

Also cleared were Garvey Iyanjan; Prof. Francis Faduyile, Mrs Judith Omogoroye, Ifeoluwa Oyedele and  Okunjimi  John.

READ ALSO: Emir of Bichi urges Kano Govt to embrace mechanised farming

“All aspirants demonstrated a willingness to support the aspirant that emerged as the party’s candidate for the Nov. 2024 governorship election,” the report indicated.

It urged the party’s leadership to ensure that the April 20 primary elections are free, fair, credible and acceptable to all.



Comments are closed.