Northern Nigerian Breaking News

Sokoto: Gov. Aliyu sacks 15 district heads

The Sokoto State Government has sacked nine district heads of their appointment over alleged insubordination, aiding of insecurity, and land racketeering.

A statement on Tuesday issued by Abubakar Bawa, the Press Secretary to Governor Ahmed Aliyu said the district heads were those of Unguwar Lalle, Yabo, Wamakko, Tulluwa, llela, Dogon Daji, Kebbe, Alkammu, and Giyawa.

It said the state government also sacked another six district heads who were appointed by the immediate past government of the state.

The statement said the six district heads were dropped because of the way they were haphazardly appointed and their rejection by their people.

Read Also: Zamfara: Fleeing villagers storm Govt. House to seek protection from bandits

elsamad new

They include Marafan Tangaza, Sarkin Gabas Kalambaina, Bunun Gongono, Sarkin Kudun Yar Tsakkuwa, Sarkin Tambuwal and Sarkin Yamman Torankavwa.

Bawa  noted that “The cases involving District Heads of Isa, Kuchi, Kilgori and Gagi have been recommended for further investigations.’’

However, Sarkin Yakin Binji, senior counsellor in the Suktanate Council, was transferred to Nabunkari while the District Head of Sabon Birni was deployed to Gatawa.

It noted that seven district heads had been retained. They include Alhaji Aliyu Abubakar III (Chairman Sokoto), Alhaji Ibrahim Dauki Maccido (Barayar Zaki), Abubakar Salame (Sarkin Arewan Salame) and Aminu Bello (Sarkin Yamman Balle).

Read Also: Sanusi was removed for not watching his tongue- Ganduje

Others are Mahmoud Yabo (Sarkin Gabas Dandin Mahe), Muntari Tukur Ambarura (Sarkin Gabas Ambarura) and Malam Isa Rarah (Sarkin Gabas Rarah).

Similarly, the district heads of Tsaki and Asare were retained while Abdulkadir Mujeli was reinstated as Sarkin Rafin Gumbi.

Read Also: Kebbi Govt. sacks district head for insubordination

According to the statement, this followed the recommendations of the Committee on the Review of the Appointments of Traditional Rulers, Renaming of Tertiary Institutions, and the Dissolution of Governing Boards of State Parastatals.


Comments are closed.