Northern Nigerian Breaking News

Subsidy Removal: JUST IN: FG approves N5bn each as palliative for states

The Federal Government has announced a N5 billion palliative to each state and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), to cushion the effect of fuel subsidy removal.

Borno State Governor Babagana Zulum announced this during an interactive session with State House correspondents in Abuja on Thursday.

Addressing reporters after the statutory meeting of the National Economic Council (NEC) chaired by Vice-President Kashim Shettima on Thursday, Zulum highlighted some of the things that were discussed at the meeting.

Membership of NEC includes the governors of the 36 states of the federation, Ministers of Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and Finance, Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), and the Group Chief Executive Officer of Nigeria National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCL) among others.

Read Also: Naira Scarcity: Irate youths set banks ablaze, suspects arrested

elsamad new

It was gathered that the meeting considered varying issues, including the Federation’s financial status, general issues, especially but the deployment of palliatives aimed at cushioning the harsh effects of the fuel subsidy removal.

Among the governors who attended the meeting were Abdulrahman Abdulrazak (Kwara), Hope Uzodinma (Imo), Inuwa Yahya (Gombe) Dauda Lawal (Zamfara), Dr. Alex Otti (Abia), Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos) and Ademola Adeleke (Osun).

Read Also: 84-year-old father of seven kills wife for refusing sex-Police

Others were Senator Bala Mohammed (Bauchi), Senator Uba Sani(Kaduna), Sheriff Obrevwori (Delta), Prof. Charles Soludo (Anambra), Godwin Obaseki (Edo), Yahaya Bello (Kogi), Umaru Namadi (Jigawa),

Also at the meeting are Umo Eno (Akwa Ibom), Prince Bassey Otu (Cross River), Lucky Aiyedatiwa (Ondo State acting governor), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), Ahmad Aliu (Sokoto), Agbu Kefas (Taraba), Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa), Peter Mbah (Enugu), Process Babagana Zulum (Borno).

Read Also: Police arrest 6 for allegedly chanting provocative slogans in Kano

Deputy governors of Katsina, Rivers, Yobe, Adamawa, Kano, and Kebbi are also participating in the meeting.

More soon…

Comments are closed.