Northern Nigerian Breaking News

2023: Gawuna clinches Kano APC governorship ticket

Deputy Governor of Kano State, Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) Governorship Primary Election of the State.

Nasiru Gawuna defeated his opponent, Sha’aban Ibrahim Sharada to emerge winner of the Primary Election held on Thursday at the Sani Abacha Sports Complex.

Declaring the result, the Chairman of the Gubernatorial Primary Election Committee Senator Tijjani Yahaya Kaura said Gawuna polled 2,289 votes while the only other contestant in the race  Sha’aban had 30 votes.

Read Also:Omo-Agege picks APC guber ticket in Delta


Kaura said that the total number of delegates for the exercise was 2,420, those accredited for the exercise was 2,420, total votes cast was 2,339 while invalid votes are 20.

He said: “I Sen.Tijjani Yahaya Kaura, Chairman of Kano APC Governorship Primary Election Committee on behalf of the National working committee of our party hereby announced that result for this election have been collated and counted accordingly. I hereby certified that Dr.Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna having scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner.“ He is therefore the standard flag bearer of the APC in the Gubernatorial election that will take place in 2023 in Kano State, he said”.

In his speech shortly after been declared winner, the APC gubernatorial Candidate, Nasiru Gawuna ”thanked Allah for the victory, he appreciated the support of Governor Ganduje, the party leaders and delegates. While appealing to all party members to join hands and work hard towards the success and victory of the APC during the general elections, he commended them for conducting themselves in an orderly and peaceful manner during the primary election.”

The primary election was supervised by the representatives of the Independent National Electoral Commission, the Police and Department of State Security.

Comments are closed.